Beef Ragù with Tagliatelle

Last night, I posted a comment on my social media pages, about how it would have been nice to have SIRI record every ingredient and method I use when cooking. I love cooking and baking (but writing a recipe is another story), especially playing with different spices and herbs – it gets me more excited when there’s chocolate involved😊.  I mean chocolates save lives (but do not quote me on this, in case your hips expand😉).  I mean, seriously though I would not mind to be stuck in a desert with dark chocolates, nuts, water and green tea. Anyway, back to the Ragù.

If I was not born in South Africa, I would probably be an Italian, I swear. Even my friends know about this but please never ask them what I say about Italians, I mean because they are my friends; and I am pretty sure that you will need to be vetted and drug their coolers to get that kind of information out of them. So, do not even try.

This Ragù has been on my head for quite some time and I have been dragging myself to cook it since I am now trying to eat strictly “healthy”. Suffice it to say, last night that was out of the window. However, looking at the bright side though; if had not cooked it, today you would not be reading this post, so all is good😊

To those who do not know what a Ragù is, it is an Italian meat-based sauce. Ooh! How I love it😍 and I hope you enjoy and love it too. This recipe serves 4.

INGREDIENTS

450g Lean Minced Beef (Free Range)

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

1 Medium Onion, finely chopped

1 Medium Carrot, finely chopped

4 Finger Celery Sticks, finely chopped

2 -3 Garlic Gloves

2 Teaspoons Dried Oregano

2 Teaspoons Dried Parsley

1 Tablespoon Fresh Sage leaves, finely chopped

1 Tablespoon Fresh Basil leaves, finely chopped

½ Teaspoon Smoked Crushed Chillies Flakes

2– 3 Medium Tomatoes, chopped

5 Tablespoon Tomato Paste

1 to 1 1/2 Cup Chicken Stock

1 Tablespoon Cranberry jelly

Sea Salt and Pepper

450g Tagliatelle

For Garnish

Italian Parsley, chopped

Parmesan Cheese, grated

METHOD
  1. Cook the tagliatelle according to packet instructions.
  2. Using a heavy bottomed large deep-frying pan (with a lid), heat oil for few minutes and fry onion for 2 minutes on medium heat. Then add celery, carrots, dried oregano, dried parsley and a pinch of salt before adding meat. Fry for about 3 minutes or so.
  3. Add mince meat, cook for few minutes, stirring until it loses a bit of the red meat colour. Add chopped tomatoes, sage, garlic and basil then salt and pepper. Close the lid for few minutes. Keep stirring until the tomatoes are thoroughly cooked.
  1. Add chillies and cranberry jelly, stir and cook for few minutes.
  2. Add the tomato paste and chicken stock, then give it a good stir. Cover with the lid and let it simmer for 20 minutes (occasionally stir, maybe twice). After 20 minutes, taste to check seasoning, if not satisfied you may add salt and 2 teaspoons of brown sugar (for the tartness of the tomatoes). Then let it cook for 5 minutes.
  3. If after 20 minutes you are satisfied with seasoning, Add the tagliatelle to the ragù.
  4. Dish on a pasta dish and sprinkle fresh parsley and Parmesan cheese onto each bowl to serve.

Leave a comment